
BASIC
RULES

The game continues until someone meets the conditions of the 
current Goal. That player wins instantly, no matter whose turn 
it is! (If a tie, the game continues until one winner emerges.)

Place the Basic Rules 
card in the center of the 
table. Shuffle the deck 
and deal three cards to 
each player.  Place the 
remainder of the deck 
face down next to the 
Basic Rules to form a 
draw pile.  At the start of 
the game, there will be no 
Goal or New Rule cards 
in play – they will be 
added as the game 
progresses.

Cartoon Network Fluxx is an easy game, but learning it can 
sometimes be tricky because Fluxx is not like any other game 
you’ve ever played. Many people find that the best way to 
learn is by jumping right into a game, but that usually works 
best if at least one player in the group has played a Fluxx 
game before. So, if this is the first time for everyone, someone 
in the group needs to read these rules. But don’t worry, after 
you’ve played the game a few times, everyone will understand!

There is no rule for who gets to go first. You decide!

On Your Turn:
1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
4) Comply with the current Keeper Limit (if any).

Fluxx is a game about change, so this game will change as you 
play it. The game begins with just a couple of very simple rules 
and becomes more complex as additional rules are added via 
special cards called New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play one 
card) and adapt to all additional New Rules as they are played. 
Players take turns, going clockwise around the table, drawing 
and playing the indicated number of cards until someone 
meets the current Goal condition.

Goal cards set the winning conditions. Meeting the Goal will 
require that you have a specific combination of cards called 
Keepers on the table in front of you. When a new Goal is played, it 
replaces the old Goal.

When playing a card, you may choose any card in your hand. 
If you aren’t sure how a particular card works, try reading the 
full text aloud as you play it.   

BASIC RULES: This is the starting point – the 
foundation on which the rest of the game is built. 
These initial rules will be superseded by New Rules 
during the course of play, but this card should remain 
on the table at all times. The Basic Rules are: Draw 1 
card per turn and Play 1 card per turn (with no other 
restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).

NEW RULE: To play a New Rule, place it face up near   
the Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in 
play, discard the old rule. New Rules take effect 
instantly, so all players must immediately follow the 
New Rule as required. This will often cause the player 
whose turn it is to draw or play additional cards right 
away, or it may cause other players to immediately 
discard some of their cards.

GOAL: These cards show the specific Keepers you 
must have on the table in front of you in order to win. 
To play a Goal, place it face up in the center of the 
table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game 
begins with no Goal in play, so no one can win until 
one is played. The Goal applies to everyone; as soon 
as someone meets these conditions, they win! (Even if 
it’s someone else’s turn!)

KEEPER: To play a Keeper, take it out of your hand 
and place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most 
Goals require you to have a particular pair of Keepers, 
so playing a Keeper is always a good thing.

ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just 
do whatever the card says, then place it on the Discard 
Pile. Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and 
yet at other times, have no effect at all. Note that while 
some Actions may cause additional cards to be played, 
everything that happens as a result of an Action card is 
considered part of one “play.”

Example: After drawing 1 card, you play the “Draw 3” New Rule. Now the 
rules require you to Draw 3 cards on each turn, but since you only took 1 
card before, you must immediately draw 2 more cards. The next player 
draws 3 cards. He plays the “Draw 2” which changes the rules again, but 
he draws no more, having already gotten (at least) 2 cards. Since Draw 2 
contradicts Draw 3, the Draw 3 is discarded.

Example: If you play the Action called “Use What You Take” you will 
take a card from another player’s hand and immediately play it. If that 
card is “Draw 2 and Use ‘em” you’d keep going, drawing 2 more 
cards and immediately playing them both. All of this activity would be 
counted as the playing of just one card.

Deal three 
cards to 
each 
player.

How to Begin

Start by putting 
the Basic Rules 
in the middle of 
the table.

Shuffle
the deck.
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Goals are played to the 
middle of the table.

New Rules are 
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Basic Rules in the 
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Actions are used, then 
immediately discarded 

in the discard pile.

Discard
Pile

(face up)

Keepers are 
played face-up on 
the table in front 
of each player.
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Q: Do I get to play any cards or take any actions when it's not my turn?
A: When it's someone else's turn, there's not much you get to do – 
there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will sometimes 
need to make minor decisions and perform card maintenance during 
other players' turns. For example, if someone plays a Hand Limit and 
you have more cards in your hand than are allowed, you'll need to 
decide what to keep and what to discard. 

Q: For Get Over Here, how do I know what show a character is from?
A: Here’s a handy chart:
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

If the Draw pile runs out, 
shuffle the Discard pile, 
turn it over to make a new 
Draw pile, and keep playing.

New players may join at 
any time by being dealt a 
hand of three cards.

Whenever something mentions a card “in play”, this refers to a card 
that is face up on the table, but not in the discard pile.

Regarding Discarding:
Discarding a card is not the same as 
playing it. When a card is played all 
instructions on that card must be 
followed, if possible. You cannot 
simply discard unwanted cards; you 
can only discard if compelled to by a 
Hand Limit. (Yes, this means you 
could be forced to play a card that 
makes someone else win.)  

NOTES

Cartoon Network Fluxx is based on Fluxx, published in 1997.

Q: Suppose I play Draw 2 and Use 'em and I draw two Goals, and 
one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can I play the two Goals 
in instant succession, with the one that doesn't make them win on top, 
so that they don't get to win?
A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone to 
win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in play, it 
counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, they win. 

Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use it on 
the person you took it from or does it go in your own Keeper collection?
A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper. 

Q: Isn't the E-Name Bonus kind of unfair?
A:  Well yes, but that's just the way things go sometimes in cartoons. 
Maybe an anvil falls on your head. Often, the same people keep 
getting away with stuff. Fluxx isn't always a fair game. If this card (or 
any card) really bothers your group, just take it out.

Q: When saying Yeahuh! is required, does it count as a "playing" a 
Keeper if you gain possession of one through an action like Steal a 
Keeper rather than an actual hand-to-table playing of a Keeper?
A: You should always say "Yeahuh!" just to be safe, but technically it 
only matters when it's an official play.

Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?
A: Yes! Please visit LooneyLabs.com for the latest FAQ updates!
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Q:  What happens if I want to play a New Rule but there's already a 
New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New 
Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist? 
A: It all depends on contradictions. There's no limit on the number of 
New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don't interfere 
with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has nothing to do 
with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. However, if both rules 
are about the same thing, for example how many cards to Draw, then 
the new card becomes the rule and the old rule is discarded.

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3, 
contradicts the Basic Rules?
A: The New Rule still supersedes the 
Basic Rules, but the Basic Rules card 
does not get discarded. To help to avoid 
confusion, the New Rule can be placed 
to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules it 
replaces, as shown.

Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but I only have 2 cards?
A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no cards 
left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play I change the rules 
to Play 3. Do I play one more card or am I done because I played 2?
A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 1 more 
card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.

Q: How do I interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards, I 
receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be 
played as well, so that I will always end up with zero cards in my hand 
at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?
A: Yes. 

Q: If I play a Keeper, and I already had a Keeper, do I have to discard 
the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the number of 
Keepers I can have in play?
A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, unless 
a Keeper Limit New Rule card is played. Even then, you can play as 
many Keepers as the current rules will allow during your turn and only 
decide which ones to keep and which to throw away (so as to comply 
with the Keeper Limit) when your turn is over. 

Q: Suppose there's a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when my turn 
begins, but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is removed 
and discarded as a result of another Rule card or Action card. Is it still 
necessary for me to discard down to the limit that is no longer in play?
A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also 
cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean “hold the limit number, unless you 
already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number”?
A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, it's 
simply a cap on the number of cards you're allowed to hold.

Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to 
choose what to discard, or is it random?
A: You get to choose.

Q: Suppose it's my turn, and the current Goal says you need two 
Keepers to win, and I have one of them, and someone else has the 
other Keeper on the table. Can I just grab it from him and win?
A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal a Keeper Action 
card which allows you to do exactly that.

Q: Can I look at the cards in the discard pile?
A: Yes, anyone can look through the discard pile at any time.

Look for other Looney Labs games at a game store
near you: http://roster.looneylabs.com
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