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power) or putting a Gold from your essence pool onto a component 
(such as with the Mermaid or Infuser) does not gain a Gold.

Phoenix: for space reasons, the term “Destroy” has been merged into 
its power’s cost icon.

Scrimshaw Awl: its first power’s discount can be used to reduce Gold 
costs.

Places of Power
Mystical Menagerie: to use its second power, you must have cards 

in your deck. If your discard pile, but not your deck, has cards, then you 
can’t pay its cost to use it and do not shuffle your discard pile to form 
a new deck.

Q: When a power’s cost involves discarding an artifact from your 
hand, do you also gain 1 Gold or 2 other essences from it?

A: No (this gain occurs only when doing the discard action).
Q: When a power’s cost involves turning a different artifact, do you 

also activate that artifact’s power(s)?
A: No (you are doing the “use a power” action; turning a different 

artifact is simply part of paying the power’s cost and has no other 
effects).

Q: Can you use a power that adds an essence to a component to put 
an essence on a turned component (such as using the Mermaid to add 
a Gold to the Cursed Forge when it is turned)?

A: Yes.
Q: Can powers that draw and put back cards be used on other 

players’ decks?
A: No.
Q: Must essences used to pay for components and power costs come 

from your essence pool?
A: Yes (unless otherwise indicated, e.g. Athanor’s Elan for its second 

power).
Q: On my turn, can I use a power that will produce no effect (to avoid 

having to pass)?
A: Yes, provided you fully pay the power’s cost.

F.A.Q
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Setup

v1.0

O n a wild coast, a seafaring mage prepares to dive below to a 
magical pearl bed in search of a pearl of power. Meanwhile, 

a dragon tamer travels to Blood Isle to seek an ancient dragon.

Welcome to Perlae Imperii™ (pearls of power), the second  
Res Arcana® expansion. Perlae Imperii adds a new essence  
type — pearls — and extends the game to 13 victory points.  
New mages, magic items, monuments, places of power,  

and artifacts further expand the game.

Perlae Imperii can be played with just the base  
game or combined with Lux et Tenebrae™,  

the first Res Arcana expansion.

Give 1 of each essence +1 Pearl to each player.

Expansion
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Combine the expansion components with the base game components. 
Place the Pearls in the center of the essence tray. Give each player 1 Pearl 
(in addition to their other essences).

The number of Places of Power and monuments to use varies with 
the number of players (see below). All magic items are always available.

This expansion, either with or without the first Res Arcana expansion, 
Lux et Tenebrae, can support 5 players. Even with both expansions, we 
do not recommend playing with 6 players.

Shuffle all the monuments together. Deal the number shown above 
to form the initial deck and return any unused monuments to the box 
(without examining them). Then draw 2 monuments and place them 
face up in the center.

Shuffle the Places of Power together, unseen below the table, turning 
over half of them several times as you shuffle (so that which side of 
each Place of Power is face up is random). Place the number shown 
above and return any unused places of power to the box. 

After doing this, place the reminder tile Pearl side up in the center.
Perform the rest of setup normally.

Play proceeds normally except as noted below:
The game now ends on a victory check when any player has 13 or 

more victory points (instead of 10 or more).
Pearls. These are a new essence type. Powers that produce essences 

of any type that exclude Gold cannot produce Pearls. Similarly, 
discounts that do not apply to Gold also do not apply to Pearls.

Mages
Ilusionist: both her powers are React powers used to satisfy turning 

a Creature, Demon, or Dragon to pay a power cost; or when you use 
a Check Victory power and have a Place of Power that earns VPs for 
having Creatures, Demons, or Dragons in play. As Mages cannot be 
destroyed, her first power cannot be used with the Lux et Tenebrae Gate 
of Hell’s second power.

Artifacts
Catherine Wheel: this inflicts life loss on all players (not rivals), 

including its owner.
Raven Familiar: you gain a Gold when you take it from the supply, 

placing it either in your essence pool or on a component. This can occur 
due to a power, Collect ability, the Discard an Artifact action, or by 
converting a pearl. Taking a Gold from a component (either during the 
Collect step or by using the Lux et Tenebrae Infernal Engine’s second 

Setup

Play

22 33

Contents

2 Places of Power
(double-sided)

On a player’s turn, a player may convert one or more Pearls in their 
essence pool each to gain 1 Gold essence or any 2 non-Gold, non-Pearl 
essences (which may be the same or different).

A player may also convert Pearls in their essence pool out of turn 
when using a React power or when responding to a React power 
condition (such as being attacked by a Dragon). If a timing conflict 
arises (when one player’s decision on converting a Pearl depends on 
whether another player is doing so), resolve it clockwise, starting with 
the player with the First Player token.

During a victory check, each Pearl that a player has at the end of it, 
either on their components or in their essence pool, counts as 1 VP.  
Thus, each Pearl on the Pearl Bed is worth 3 VPs (2 for the Pearl Bed 
plus 1 for itself). As Pearls are worth victory points, they do not count 
towards breaking ties.

These rules are summarized on the front of the Reminder tile (its back 
has the setup chart).

Note: the demon artifact type (see Ghost Ship and Catherine Wheel) 
was introduced in Lux et Tenebrae. Some components have or interact 
(Illusionist) with it (to ensure that Lux et Tenebrae scales well with this 
expansion). 

Component 
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